How will a dermatologist assess the condition of your skin?

Apart from a discussion and a skin analysis, the dermatologist has a series of other options of assessing the severity of your psoriasis and estimating how severely you are affected by the effects of the disease.

PASI

(Psoriasis Area and Severity Index)

The PASI is the most widely used tool for assessing the severity of the psoriasis. It measures the area of the body that is affected by the psoriasis and the level of scaling, redness and thickness of the plaques. The PASI has a maximum score of 72.

It differentiates between patients with mild, moderate and severe disease. PASI 100 indicates an improvement of the PASI score by 100 percent and means a complete resolution of all disease.

BSA-Index

(Body Surface Area Index)

The BSA index calculates the percentage of the body surface that is affected by the psoriasis — it is a much simpler and faster measurement than the PASI, but it does not always reflect the severity of the disease.

DLQI

(Dermatology Life Quality Index)

The DLQI is a questionnaire that the dermatologist uses to assess the effect of the psoriasis on your daily life. The ten questions target activities of daily living, clothing, leisure, work and school, personal relationships and the treatment itself.

Are you at risk for a psoriasis flare? Ask the Psoracle!

There are several risk factors that can trigger a psoriasis flare. This includes stress, but also streptococcal angina and much more. You can indicate your risk factors in the Psoracle questionnaire. This summarizes them for you. No prediction is certain – you can get a psoriasis flare regardless of Psoracle’s outcome. So do not base your decisions on the result! The goal of Psoracle is to make you aware of your personal risk factors.

And what about your quality of life?

The assessment of your perceived quality of life, which provides information about changes in the course of the therapy, can be important for your treating physician to assess the success of your current treatment. A survey of your individual quality of life at the first visit to the doctor may also provide guidance on choosing the right therapy option. A number of standardized questionnaires are available to determine the quality of life. A frequently used tool is the DLQI (Dermatology Life Quality Index)

Comment votre dermatologue va-t-il évaluer l'état

Après un entretien et un examen de peau, le dermatologue dispose d'un large éventail de possibilités pour évaluer le degré de sévérité de votre psoriasis et à quel point vous êtes affecté par les effets de la maladie.

PASI

(Psoriasis Severity Index, Index de sévérité du psoriasis)

Le PASI compte parmi les méthodes les plus courantes pour évaluer le degré de sévérité du psoriasis. Il mesure la surface du corps atteint de psoriasis, ainsi que le degré de formation d'écailles, de rougeur et d’épaisseur des plaques. Le PASI a un score maximal de 72.

Les patients peuvent être atteints d'une maladie légère, modérée ou sévère. Un score PASI 100 signifie une amélioration du score PASI de 100 pour cent, ce qui signifie la disparition totale des symptômes.

Score BSA

(Body Surface Area Index, Surface corporelle atteinte)

Le score BSA calcule le pourcentage de votre surface corporelle affectée par le psoriasis – c'est une mesure beaucoup plus simple et rapide que le  PASI – mais il ne reflète pas toujours au mieux le degré de sévérité de la maladie.

DLQI

(Dermatology Life Quality Index, Index de qualité de vie dermatologique)

Le DLQI est un questionnaire que votre dermatologue utilise pour évaluer l'impact du psoriasis sur votre vie quotidienne. Les dix questions portent sur les activités quotidiennes, les vêtements, le temps libre, le travail et l’école, les relations personnelles et le traitement lui-même.

Êtes-vous à risque d'une poussée de psoriasis? Demandez au Psoracle!

Il existe plusieurs facteurs de risque qui peuvent déclencher une poussée de psoriasis. Cela inclut le stress, mais aussi l'angine streptococcique et bien plus encore. Vous pouvez indiquer vos facteurs de risque dans le questionnaire Psoracle. Cela les résume pour vous. Aucune prédiction n'est certaine - vous pouvez obtenir une poussée de psoriasis indépendamment du résultat de Psoracle. Donc, ne basez pas vos décisions sur le résultat! Le but de Psoracle est de vous faire prendre conscience de vos facteurs de risque personnels.

Et qu'en est-il de votre qualité de vie?

L'évaluation de votre qualité de vie perçue, qui fournit des informations sur les changements au cours de la thérapie, peut être important pour votre médecin traitant d'évaluer le succès de votre traitement actuel. Une étude de votre qualité de vie individuelle lors de la première visite chez le médecin peut également vous aider à choisir la bonne thérapie. Un certain nombre de questionnaires standardisés sont disponibles pour déterminer la qualité de vie. Un outil fréquemment utilisé est le DLQI (Dermatology Life Quality Index)