Psoriasis treatment

Psoriasis is incurable, but there are different options to improve the symptoms of the disease, or even to suppress them completely.

There are different therapeutic options, depending on the severity:

  • topical therapy,
  • phototherapy,
  • photochemotherapies using UVA light,
  • conventional systemic treatments and
  • biologics

1. Topical therapy

This treatment covers all measures in which the skin is externally medicated: ointments, creams, solutions or shampoos, for example.

Vitamin-D products

Vitamin-D products specifically act against cornification and interfere with the inflammatory process. They are highly effective and well tolerated at the same time and are currently the standard for the topical treatment of psoriasis.

Tar products

One of the oldest products for the treatment of psoriasis is tar. However, the acceptance is limited in many patients, because the treatment leads to an increased sensitivity of the skin to sunlight; the products have an unpleasant smell and discolouring affect and may not be used during pregnancy and lactation.

Corticosteroids

Corticosteroids (Cortisone-like products) have a predominantly anti-inflammatory effect. Today's corticosteroids have almost no undesirable side effects, provided that they are applied correctly and are very well tolerated.

Dithranol (Cignolin)

Dithranol is a synthetic product, similar to tar.
The treatment is very effective. Dithranol is particularly used for inpatient (day) treatment in hospitals, because the application in outpatient settings is limited due to skin irritations and discolouration of skin and clothing.

Combined vitamin D3 corticosteroid

These preparations contain the two active substances vitamin D3 analogues and corticosteroid, mixed in a single tube. In this combination they lead to faster improvement of the psoriasis than the single substances and are only applied once daily

Tazarotene

Tazarotene, a derivative of vitamin A acid, is no longer commercially available. It has an effect on the formation of scales and inflammation. It may not be used during pregnancy and lactation.

2. Phototherapy

It has been known for a long time that UV irradiation can prevent the proliferation of inflammatory cells on the skin. For example, Leviticus describes even in the Old Testament that lepers experienced healing of their leprosy after sunbathing. Conventional phototherapy of psoriasis fundamentally uses two different principles.

Treatment with UVB light

The experience of many patients shows that sunlight often has a significant positive effect on the psoriasis. The UVB radiation portion of sunlight with a wavelength of 280-320 nm is responsible for this. A wavelength of around 310 nm exhibits the optimum effect; equipment is used for this, which radiates as much UVB light as possible in this wavelength range. The exact dosage is important for preventing an increased risk for developing skin cancer.

Selective UV phototherapy (SUP irradiation)

This uses devices that radiate light of different wavelengths (polychromatic radiation devices), with a maximum emission between 300 nm and 320 nm.

Narrowband UVB therapy (311 nm)

Narrowband UVB therapy uses devices with fluorescent tubes with an emissions peak at 311 nm.

3. Photochemotherapies using UVA light

Psoralen UVA therapy, abbreviated as PUVA therapy, uses a substance before irradiation that makes the skin more sensitive to light (photosensitising substance), applied either in the form of a tablet or externally by a bath or an ointment applied directly onto the skin. 8-methoxypsoralen (8-MOP) is generally used as a photosensitising substance, which makes the skin receptive to UVA light (320-400 nm).

Systemic PUVA therapy

In this treatment form, a photosensitising substance is taken before the irradiation in the form of tablets.

Excimer laser

Targeted UVB therapy of therapy using an excimer laser has been possible for the past 10 years. This made it possible to apply the healing UVB light of wavelength 308 nm in a targeted way directly to the affected skin areas for the first time. Various national and international studies demonstrate that in 85% of cases the skin areas receiving targeted irradiation healed after 10 to 12 treatments.

Cream PUVA therapy

Especially common is this therapy, in which an ointment containing 8-MOP is selectively applied to the psoriasis lesions (typically on hands and feet) is used, where an enhanced UVA photoeffect is desired (psoriasis lesions)

Topical bath-water PUVA

8-MOP may also be dissolved in water and then used as hand or foot-bath as a sensitising agent for the phototherapy. This is then called topical bath-water PUVA.

The psoriasis-free time of the treated areas is comparable to that of conventional phototherapies. For example, there is a relapse-free time after a PUVA/balneo-phototherapy treatment of approx. nine to 12 months.

The most important benefits are:

  • Individual dosage (adjusted to the thickness of the psoriatic plaque)
  • Leaving out the healthy skin by targeted light irradiation (therefore "targeted UVB therapy" in English language literature)

In 2006 the targeted UVB therapy using excimer laser was included in the S3 guideline for psoriasis and it is specifically recommended for small area psoriasis affecting a body surface area of below 10%. Therefore, it is particularly suitable for:

  • Clearly delineated small-scale plaques, for example elbows, knees, calves
  • Problem areas, such as navels, intertriginous areas (flank, abdominal folds, arm pits, anal region)
  • Plaques on the scalp

4. Conventional systemic treatments

In patients with moderate or severe psoriasis a topical or phototherapy alone can often not bring about satisfactory improvement. In these cases, systemic treatments will be necessary: Additional treatments with medications in the form of tablets, injections or infusions.

A distinction is made between:

  • conventional medications, not produced by genetic modification
  • biologics, substances produced by genetic modification

Many criteria must be considered, since the decision in favour of any potential medication is strongly dependent on the individual's state of health, for example:

  • type and location of the psoriatic lesions
  • pre-existing conditions and co-morbidities
  • existing contraindications
  • interactions with concomitant medication
  • the presence of a psoriatic arthritis
  • personal circumstances (e.g. desire to have children).

These drugs should be used only after a detailed consultation and examination by physicians, who have experience with these treatments.

The following conventional systemic treatments have been included in the S3 guideline Psoriasis therapy and are mostly used in Switzerland:

Apremilast

Apremilast, approved since July 2015 for the treatment of moderate to severe common psoriasis, works by reducing the activity of the so-called phosphodiesterase 4, a natural substance in the body's cells. This helps to reduce the inflammation factors in the inflammatory cells, which play an important role in psoriasis.

The substance is taken in the form of tablets and leads to a significant improvement of the psoriasis on the skin, scalp and nails and also leads to a rapid reduction of the itching. Due to its efficacy in psoriatic arthritis, apremilast also helps when joints are involved.

Fumaric acid ester

Fumaric acid esters have been approved in Germany since 1995 for the treatment of common psoriasis. They are dispensed in the form of tablets with gradually increasing doses to adapt the body to the medication. The S3 guideline confirms good efficacy of the fumaric acid esters in induction therapy and also in long-term therapy because of their favourable benefit-risk profile.

Methotrexate

Methotrexate is approved in Switzerland for the treatment of common psoriasis and is used either in the form of tablets, or, more commonly, as an injection once per week (better bioavailability). Since methotrexate also works well in many cases of psoriatic arthritis, it is also the preferred treatment in cases involving joints.

Ciclosporin

Ciclosporin, a ring-shaped peptide with immunosuppressant effect, has been approved in Germany as a medication for the treatment of the psoriasis since 1993. The S3 guideline for psoriasis treatment recommends ciclosporin for induction therapy in moderate to severe common psoriasis in adults who do not show the desired response to a treatment with topical therapy and/or phototherapy.

Treatment options include:

  • Short-term therapy with capsules (generally) for some months, which are repeated in intervals
  • Continuous long-term therapy (less common) for a period of one to two years

Retinoids

Since the 70s retinoids, vitamin A derivatives, are used in the treatment of common psoriasis and today they are used mostly in the treatment of hands and feet of the following types:

Pustular psoriasis (forming pustules)
Hyperkeratotic psoriasis (with severe cornification)
Within the EU there are additional medications in use, which are not approved in Switzerland for the treatment of psoriasis. Thanks to their good efficacy, they are used in individual cases for psoriasis treatment, following individual cost approval by the respective health insurance provider.

5. Biologics

This new class of medications is produced by biotechnology, in order to enable intervention in the immunological processes in the body. They mainly block the inflammatory processes, by acting as antagonists of the so-called cytokines. Cytokines are neurotransmitters that trigger or control inflammation, and which are transmitted by the immune system's scavenger cells, the macrophages. These neurotransmitters include, among others, the tumour necrosis factor alpha (TNF-α) and the interleukin 12/23 and/or interleukin 17.

Thanks to the discovery that the cytokine TNF-α plays a key role in the development and maintenance of inflammatory processes in moderate to severe plaque psoriasis, innovative and effective medications have been developed over the past few years. TNF-α blockers facilitate targeted intervention in the inflammatory response and may suppress it. The skin symptoms often subside within a few weeks, and in some cases even completely. Newer biologics target IL-12/23 and, even more effectively, IL-17.

Biologics may be used in patients from the age of eight with moderate and severe plaque psoriasis, if conventional treatments have shown insufficient success, may not be used for various medical reasons, or were not tolerated.

In contrast to the classical systemic therapies, the biologics work very quickly, and therefore many patients report an improvement of symptoms within only a few weeks from the start of treatment.

Biologics are proteins, which cannot be taken as tablets because they would be destroyed by the gastric acid. Therefore, they are administered as an injection, either below the skin (subcutaneous) or by the doctor as an infusion into the vein (intravenously).

Treat to Target

According to larger studies a psoriasis treatment is particularly successful if the patient and the treating physician have on one hand, clearly defined the patient's expectations, and the realistic aims of the therapy on the other hand. Dermatologists, who are PsoriNet members, define these aims jointly with the patient. The improvement of the patient's quality of life is the main focus and not just the skin specific treatment aims. Co-morbidities, such as high blood pressure, excess weight, depression, etc. are also carefully monitored.

Traitement du psoriasis

Le psoriasis est incurable, néanmoins il existe différents moyens d'améliorer les symptômes de la maladie voire de les faire disparaître complètement.

En fonction du degré de sévérité, différentes options de traitement sont disponibles:

  • traitement local,
  • photothérapie,
  • photochimiothérapie avec lumière UVA,
  • thérapie systémique classique (thérapie systémique conventionnelle) et
  • médicaments biologiques

1. Traitement local

Ce traitement comprend toutes les mesures permettant le traitement de la peau par voie externe, par exemple des pommades, des crèmes, des solutions ou des shampooings.

Compléments à base de vitamine D

Les compléments à base de vitamine D possèdent une action spécifique contre la kératinisation et interviennent dans le processus inflammatoire. Ils sont très efficaces et immédiatement bien tolérés et constituent aujourd'hui le traitement local standard du psoriasis.

Préparation à base de goudron

Le goudron est l'un des traitements les plus anciens du psoriasis. Toutefois, l'acceptation est limitée pour beaucoup de patients parce que ce traitement entraîne une sensibilité accrue de la peau au soleil, les préparations ont une odeur et un effet de décoloration désagréables, et ne peuvent pas être utilisées pendant la grossesse et l'allaitement.

Corticostéroïdes

Corticostéroïdes (médicaments corticoïdes) agissent principalement comme anti-inflammatoires. Aujourd'hui, les corticoïdes n'ont presque pas d'effets indésirables dès lors qu’ils sont utilisés de façon adéquate, et sont très bien tolérés.

Dithranol (Cignolin)

Le dithranol est un goudron synthétique.
Le traitement est très efficace. Le dithranol est principalement appliqué à l'hôpital (de jour), du fait de soins ambulatoires et est limité en raison de l'irritation et de la décoloration de la peau et des vêtements qu'il provoque.

Association vitamine D3 - corticoïdes

Ces préparations contiennent les deux principes actifs analogues de la vitamine D3 et des corticostéroïdes mélangés dans un tube. Cette association permet une amélioration plus rapide du psoriasis qu'une substance isolée et sont pris seulement une fois par jour.

Tazarotène

En Suisse, le tazarotène, dérivé de l'acide rétinoïque (vitamine A), n'est plus disponible. Il agit sur la desquamation et sur l'inflammation. Il ne doit pas être utilisé pendant la grossesse et l'allaitement.

2. Photothérapie

Traiter préventivement les affections inflammatoires de la peau par les rayons UV est une idée ancienne. Ainsi, il est décrit dans le Lévitique de l'Ancien Testament, quedes lépreux ont guéri de la lèpre grâce à un bain de soleil. Dans le traitement classique par photothérapie, deux principes différents sont utilisés.

Traitement par la lumière UVB

L'expérience de nombreux patients montre que l'influence de la lumière est significativement positive sur le psoriasis. Ce sont les rayons UVB du soleil avec une longueur d'onde de 280-320 nm qui en sont responsables. Une longueur d'onde de 310 nm montre un effet optimal, par conséquent les dispositifs utilisés émettent de la lumière UVB dans cette zone de longueur d'onde. Un dosage précis est important pour ne pas favoriser l'augmentation du risque de développement d'un cancer de la peau.

La photothérapie UV sélective (SUP)

Cette forme de thérapie fait appel à des appareils émettant différentes longueurs d'onde (émetteurs polychromatiques), l'émission maximum se situant entre 300 nm et 320 nm.

La thérapie UVB à bande étroite (311 nm)

Cette thérapie fait appel à des appareils pourvus de tubes fluorescents avec émission maximum de 311 nm.

3. Photochimiothérapie avec utilisation de rayons UVA

Avec la thérapie psoralène-UVA, ou la thérapie PUVA courte, une substance à effet photosensibilisateur est administrée avant la photothérapie, soit   sous forme de comprimés, soit directement sur la peau sous forme de pommade ou de bain.  En général, le photosensibilisateur utilisé est le méthoxypsoralène (8-MOP), qui rend la peau sensible à la lumière UVA (320-400 nm).

Puvathérapie systémique

Dans cette forme de traitement, un photosensibilisant est administré sous forme de comprimé avant la photothérapie.

Laser Excimer

Depuis 10 ans, une thérapie UVB ciblée («targeted») est possible par Laser Excimer. Il a été ainsi possible pour la première fois d'apporter de la lumière UVB de longueur d'onde 308 nm bénéfique, ciblée sur la peau affectée. Différentes études nationales et internationales montrent que, dans jusqu'à 85% des cas, les zones de peau spécifiquement irradiées sont soignées après 10 à 12 mois.

Puvathérapie avec administration de pommade

Fréquemment utilisé, ce traitement implique l'application d'une pommade contenant du 8-MOP sélectivement sur les foyers psoriasiques (le plus souvent au niveau des mains et des pieds) ce qui permet de renforcer l'action de la photothérapie (foyer psoriasique)

Balnéopuvathérapie locale

Le 8-MOP peut également être dilué dans l'eau puis utilisé comme bain de main ou de pied pour sensibilisation à la photothérapie. On parle alors de balnéopuvathérapie locale.

La durée de rémission sans psoriasis est équivalente à celle de la photothérapie conventionnelle. Il existe donc une durée sans récidive après traitement PUVA/balnéothérapie d'environ 9 à 12 mois.

Les principaux avantages sont:

  • Adaptation personnalisée du dosage (ajustée en fonction de l'épaisseur des plaques psoriasiques)
  • Préservation de la peau saine par irradiation ciblée des rayons lumineux (d’où le nom «targeted UVB therapy»)

En 2006, la thérapie UVB par laser excimer a été incluse dans la ligne directrice S3 du psoriasis et est particulièrement recommandée pour les petites zones de psoriasis affectant une surface corporelle inférieure à 10%. Cela est particulièrement approprié pour:

  • Les petites plaques se développant par exemple au niveau  du coude, du genou, de la jambe 
  • Les zones problématiques telles que le nombril, les plis (aine, ventre, aisselle, région anale)
  • Infestation du cuir chevelu

4. Konventionelle Systemtherapien

Chez les patients souffrant de psoriasis modéré à sévère, le traitement local ou la photothérapie ne permettent souvent, à eux seuls, d’apporter une amélioration satisfaisante. Dans ce cas, le traitement systémique est nécessaire. Un traitement supplémentaire avec des médicaments sous forme de comprimés, d’injections ou de perfusions.

On peut distinguer:

  • les médicaments classiques, non génétiquement modifiés
  • les médicaments biologiques, substances génétiquement modifiées

La décision de remettre en question les médicaments conventionnels dépend fortement de la situation clinique individuelle, et différents critères doivent être pris en compte, tels que:

  • Nature et localisation des foyers psoriasiques
  • Affections préexistantes et comorbidités
  • Contre-indications existantes
  • Interactions avec d'autres médicaments pris
  • Présence d'une arthrite psoriasique
  • Conditions de vie (p. ex. désir d'enfant).

Ces médicaments ne doivent être utilisés qu'après consultation minutieuse et examen détailléx avec des médecins qui ont de l'expérience avec ces traitements du psoriasis.

Les traitements suivants sont intégrés dans la ligne directrice S3 de thérapie du psoriasis comme traitements systémiques conventionnels et sont utilisés en Suisse:

Apremilast

Apremilast, est approuvé en Suisse depuis juillet 2015 pour le traitement du psoriasis vulgaris modéré à sévère, et agit en réduisant l'activité de la fameuse phosphodiestérase-4, une substance naturelle présente dans les cellules corporelles. Elle permet de réduire les facteurs de l'inflammation dans les cellules inflammatoires, qui jouent un rôle important dans le psoriasis.

La substance est administrée sous forme de comprimés et apporte une amélioration significative du psoriasis sur la peau, le cuir chevelu et les ongles, elle permet également d’obtenir une réduction rapide des démangeaisons. L'aprémilast est également utile grâce à son efficacité sur l'arthrite psoriasique, en cas d'atteinte articulaire associée. 

Esters de l'acide fumarique

Les esters de l'acide fumatique sont autorisés en Allemagne depuis 1995 pour le traitement du psoriasis vulgaris. Ils sont pris sous forme de comprimés avec une augmentation progressive de la dose pour permettre au corps de s'habituer au médicament. La ligne directrice S3 atteste que les esters de l'acide fumarique présentent une bonne efficacité dans le traitement d'induction ainsi qu'un bon profil bénéfice-risque dans le traitement au long cours.

Méthotrexate

Le méthotrexate est autorisé en Suisse pour le traitement du psoriasis vulgaris et est administré sous la forme de comprimés, ou plus souvent par injection une fois par semaine (meilleure biodisponibilité). Dans de nombreux cas, le méthotrexate est également efficace sur l'arthrite psoriasique et est donc souvent prescrit en cas d'atteinte articulaire associée.

Ciclosporine

La ciclosporine, un peptide possédant une activité immunosuppressive, est autorisée depuis 1993 comme médicament pour le traitement du psoriasis. Dans la ligne directrice S3 sur le traitement du psoriasis, la ciclosporine est recommandée comme traitement d'induction dans le psoriasis modéré à sévère chez les adultes qui ne répondent pas comme souhaité au traitement topique et/ou à la photothérapie.

Les possibilités de traitement sont:

  • Thérapie brève avec des capsules (courant)    pendant plusieurs mois, pouvant être renouvelé à intervalles réguliers, 
  • Traitement à long terme en continu (rare) durant un à deux ans

Rétinoïdes

Depuis les années 70, les rétinoïdes, dérivés de la vitamine A, sont utilisés dans le traitement du psoriasis vulgaris et reviennent au premier plan pour le traitement des mains et des pieds pour des atteintes de différentes formes

Psoriasis à pustules (avec cloques purulentes) 
Psoriasis avec hyperkératose (fortement prescrit) 
Il existe dans l'UE    d'autres médicaments utilisables qui ne sont pas autorisés en Suisse pour le traitement du psoriasis. Grâce à leur très bonne efficacité, ils sont toutefois remboursés par la caisse d’assurance maladie compétente après garantie de prise en charge  individuelle dans le cadre du traitement du psoriasis.

5. Médicaments biologiques

Cette nouvelle classe de médicaments est fabriquée par biotechnologie afin de pouvoir intervenir dans les processus immunologiques du corps. Ces médicaments agissent en s'opposant aux fameuses cytokines, en bloquant tout particulièrement le processus inflammatoire. Les cytokines sont des messagers chimiques provoquant ou contrôlant l’inflammation, qui sont libérés par les « cellules mangeuses » du système immunitaire, les macrophages. Ces messagers chimiques comprennent notamment le facteur de nécrose tumorale alpha (TNF-α) et les interleukines 12/23 et interleukine 17.

Grâce à l'identification de la cytokine TNF-α comme facteur essentiel dans le déclenchement du processus inflammatoire du psoriasis en plaques modéré à sévère, de nouveaux médicaments innovants efficaces ont pu être développés durant les dernières années. Les bloqueurs du TNF-α interviennent de façon ciblée dans le processus inflammatoire et sont capables d'en supprimer les effets. Les symptômes de la peau vont s'estomper au bout de quelques semaines, dans certains cas même disparaître complètement.

Les médicaments biologiques peuvent être administrés à partir de l'âge de huit ans dans le traitement du psoriasis en plaques modéré à sévère, quand les traitements traditionnels n'ont pas donné de résultats suffisants, ou s'ils ne peuvent être administrés pour différentes raisons médicales ou ne sont pas tolérés. .

Les médicaments biologiques agissent très rapidement par comparaison aux traitements traditionnels, de sorte que de nombreux patients voient des résultats apparaître au bout de quelques semaines.

Les médicaments biologiques sont des protéines qui ne peuvent pas être prises sous forme de comprimés car ils seraient détruits par les sucs gastriques. Par conséquent, ils sont administrés par injection, soit sous la peau (sous-cutané), soit par perfusion veineuse (voie intraveineuse) par le médecin.

Treat to Target

D'importantes études ont montré que le traitement du psoriasis se révèle particulièrement efficace lorsque les attentes du patient et les objectifs réalistes du traitement proposé par le médecin traitant ont été clairement définis., Les dermatologues qui sont membres du réseau PsoriNet définissent ces objectifs conjointement avec les patients. L'accent est mis sur l'amélioration de la qualité de vie du patient et pas uniquement sur le traitement spécifique de la peau. Les comorbidités telles que l'hypertension, l'obésité, la dépression, etc. doivent également être prises en compte.